As per the Parochial Administration Ordinance, a parish or congregation elects or appoints various officers. These officers help to ensure the church is effective and to fulfil the responsibilities involved in the day to day running of the church. These positions include:

  • Wardens - a  People's Warden, who is elected at the Annual Vestry Meeting, and a Priest's Warden, who is appointed by the minister/priest.
  • Members of Parish Council.  The Parish Council  (together with the minister/priest) is responsible for the worship, ministry and mission of the parish. 
  • Members of the Nomination Committee, to select a new minister/priest if required.
  • A Parish Treasurer, to maintain accurate financial records and to report as required to the Vestry, the Parish Council, and the Australian Taxation Office
  • A Parish Secretary, who acts as the contact point for Diocesan notices and correspondence.  The Parish Council may ask the Parish Secretary to perform other duties, which should be clearly minuted.

These positions are usually elected at the Annual Vestry Meeting, or appointed by Parish Council or the Rector/Priest-in-Charge.

The number of people who make up the Parish Council is not fixed by the Ordinance, but is determined by the Vestry. The Ordinance provides (at section 42(2)) that for every three elected members of Parish Council, the minister/priest can appoint one member.

As Diocesan Office will often need to communicate with parish officers, it is important that parishes let Diocesan Office know when new parish officers are elected or appointed and that they provide Diocesan Office with up to date contact details for their parish officers.  At this stage it is not necessary to provide details of all Parish Council members.

A separate article has been prepared about notifying Diocesan Office of newly elected lay Synod representatives

Notification of New Parish Officers may be done online here.